Did you know?  Check our Rare Books Page

Caldecott Winning Illustrators Series: David Wiesner

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 23, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Caldecott Medal, Children's Books

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the children’s book whose illustrations represent the best work being produced in the field of children’s book illustration. This honor is the highest award in the nation for children’s illustrators, for which even a nomination is considered a remarkable achievement. Throughout the years, most illustrators have only won one award, with several winning two. However, only two illustrators, since the conception of the award, have won the medal three times. Those two artists are Marcia Brown, and today’s subject of our Caldecott Winning Illustrators series: David Wiesner.


Best Books by State: Nebraska

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 21, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Pulitzer Prize, American Literature, Movie Tie-Ins

Today we continue our Best Books by State series by looking at some books set in Nebraska. Nebraska was once a frontier country, considered the gateway to the American West. The Midwestern state was historically home to many Native American tribes and is part of numerous historical trails once used to traverse the western frontier. The Great Plains state is now an agricultural center and home to large cities. Today we examine some notable books and short stories set in Nebraska as we continue our literary road trip through America:


The Best of Cormac McCarthy

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 16, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Pulitzer Prize, Awarded Books, American Literature

Cormac McCarthy (born Charles McCarthy) is an American writer known for his gritty, stylistically complex works of fiction in the southern gothic, western, and post-apocalyptic genres. He attended the University of Tennessee and served in the US Air Force. McCarthy published his first novel, The Orchard Keeper, in 1965.


Newbery Award Winning Authors Series: Hugh Lofting

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 14, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Children's Books, American Literature, Newbery Award

The John Newbery Medal was given in 1922 to honor books by American authors that represent the best contributions to children’s literature the previous year. It is the highest honor for children’s authors in the United States. Each year, there are many books to choose from, as all age categories, from picture books to young adult, qualify. Today in our Newbery Medal Winning Authors series, we take a look at the 1923 winner, Hugh Lofting, creator of the beloved Dr. Dolittle:



Caldecott Winning Illustrators Series: David Wisniewski

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 9, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Caldecott Medal

Each year the Caldecott Medal is awarded to the panel-declared best illustrated children’s book of that year. While often awarded to artists that work in mediums like paint or pen, 1998’s medal went to a writer/illustrator who’s medium was more related to his background in clowning and puppetry. David Wisniewski’s intricate paper cutouts and collages for his work on Golem are beautiful and detailed works of art that are sure to add to anyone looking to collect Caldecott wining books. Let's take a closer look at the work of David Wisniewski in this edition of our Caldecott Winning Illustrators Series:


Collecting Dean Koontz

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 7, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Book Collecting, Mystery, Suspense & Crime

American suspense writer Dean Koontz was born in 1945 and to date has published one hundred and five novels under his own name and various pseudonyms. He published his first novel, a work of science fiction called Star Quest, in 1968. He continued to publish science fiction, horror, and suspense novels for the next ten years, none of which reached commercial success. His breakthrough novel, Whispers, was released in 1980. Since then, Koontz has topped the New York Times Best Sellers List multiple times for both hardback and paperback novels. Many of his novels have been adapted into films. He is widely considered to be one of the most successful suspense writers alive. He continues to publish widely, often producing several novels and novellas a year. Let’s take a look at a few of Koontz’s best novels for those looking to start collecting the legendary and prolific novelist’s work.


Caldecott Winning Illustrators Series: Mary Azarian

By Adrienne Rivera. Feb 2, 2023. 10:07 AM.

Topics: Caldecott Medal, Children's Books

Each year the Caldecott Medal is awarded to a children's book illustrator whose work exemplifies the best in art being produced in the business. 1999's winner, Mary Azarian, is known for her colorful woodcut illustrations and makes her living as a local artisan in her Vermont community in addition to the over fifty books she has illustrated throughout her career. Let's take a closer look at the work of Mary Azarian in this edition of our Caldecott Winning Illustrators Series:


  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

About this blog

How can I identify a first edition? Where do I learn about caring for books? How should I start collecting? Hear from librarians about amazing collections, learn about historic bindings or printing techniques, get to know other collectors. Whether you are just starting or looking for expert advice, chances are, you'll find something of interest on blogis librorum.

Get blog notifications per email:

Download the James Bond Dossier

Recent Posts

Book Glossary
Get your free Guide to Book Care

Blog Archive

> see older posts
A Guide to Historic Libraries Part I